11 Idaho counties declared disasters

The photo shows severe flooding in February in Washington County in southwest Idaho. President Trump declared Washington and 10 other Idaho counties as disaster areas on Friday because of the flooding and snow-related damage they experienced this past winter.

Idaho National Guard photo

BOISE, Idaho (AP) — President Donald Trump has signed a disaster declaration for 11 counties in southern Idaho.

The declaration signed Friday means federal funds will be available to help communities rebuild damaged infrastructure following winter storms and flooding from Feb. 5 to March 3.

Officials say Bingham, Cassia, Elmore, Franklin, Gooding, Jefferson, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka, Twin Falls and Washington counties sustained damage that exceeded $30 million.

Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter says he's grateful the president acted quickly to support parts of Idaho struggling through some of the worst weather-related damage in recent memory.

Otter also says the state has appealed the denial of a disaster declaration sought for Ada, Canyon, Custer, Payette and Washington counties due to record snowfall that damaged roofs, roadways and other infrastructure.

Danielle Wiley is the reporter for the Kuna Melba News. Contact her at 922-3008 or email her at editor@kunamelba.com


Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.